Promises… promises

I promised myself I would post daily for some undetermined time frame. Today, I am posting simply to fulfill the letter,  if not the spirit of the promise. I am seeing quicker than I imagined that I will need to let some of my writing cool off before publishing. What I have been working on today relates to an expression of what I call my offer. This might take several drafts… or might come out as bits and pieces. I do like the idea of writing in little bits: I wonder if bits of writing can ever become “whole cloth,” like a coat.

I see there is no escape from myself: I’m relentless now that I’ve made this commitment. It’s a struggle to practice, and my friend Ann G. reminds me through inquiry, “So, it sounds like you have the idea that life isn’t supposed to include struggle?” Good point, Ann: I know that any kind of growth requires immense struggle and even worse… some kind of giving up of ideas that we are incredibly attached to. That said, the practice itself is killing the delusion of perfection.

About Terry Stevens

I write about leadership, about what it takes to grow as a human being, what it might mean to be fully expressed, about what's at the heart of what matters, the simple miracle of presence and about what I am learning as I walk this path of ongoing inquiry, mystery and surprise in collaboration with others. Perhaps my work will evoke something new in you.
This entry was posted in Cultivating Presence and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Promises… promises

  1. I am amazed at how unconscious I am of the ideas getting in the way, until I do see them and then they are self evident. But until I catch sight of them, they are the water I swim in.

Leave a comment